I been riding – just not blogging

Hello to all. I am somewhat behind in the blogging side of things though I have been getting in a few rides, despite the weather.

First I took my car for its MOT and service – electing to use the Brompton to get back to the studio rather than a borrowed car.It was a good opportunity to use the little stretch of cycle path between Bradford-on-Avon and Trowbridge. In common with many cycle paths this is a really nice smooth path that unfortunately dumps you back into traffic at the exact point where a cycle path would be most useful. Still it made for a pleasant ride up the hill.

SDC16705

The Brompton is getting on a bit now. The folding pedal is starting to get a bit of rust on it, and there are some squeaks as I’m riding along.

Interestingly, if my Lemond Etape squeaks I’ll be trying to get it fixed within minutes of a rogue noise being detected. the slightest knock, grind, or high pitched emission from that bike is enough to have me out of the saddle and on the verge anxiously examining the cranks. With the Brompton I don’t mind at all, indeed it’s quite pleasant to have a squeak coming out as the Brompton trundles along the back lanes. The Brompton is a beautiful bike for Slow Cycling, although it can race along at 17-18mph with a bit of effort,  but then, why would you want to?

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://highwaycyclinggroup.wordpress.com/2009/08/04/i-been-riding-just-not-blogging/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Hi, I’ve heard that the Brompton is a fantastic ride, it seems like you’re really into your cycling like me, do you tend to do any big treks? You mention that your brompton is getting a bit old so I thought you might be interested in http://exchangeandmart.co.uk for used bikes, if you’re in need of a new one or want to sell yours.


Leave a Reply

