What I did in the snow

I rode out of the village in the snow to get a fresh coffee

I rode out of the village in the snow to get a fresh coffee

The snow was not deep, but the roads were slippy

The snow was not deep, but the roads were slippy

It didn't take me long to get to Mes Amis, best coffee in the local area

It didn't take me long to get to Mes Amis, best coffee in the local area

On the way back, the brompton stopped working!

On the way back, the brompton stopped working!

Somehow I had managed to throw the chain - simple enough to fix.

Somehow I had managed to throw the chain - simple enough to fix.

I was on my way home again quickly enough, crunching over the ice and snow

I was on my way home again quickly enough, crunching over the ice and snow

Riding in the snow, even if only for three miles, becomes an adventure!

Published in: on February 23, 2009 at 6:03 pm  Comments (7)  
Tags: , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://highwaycyclinggroup.wordpress.com/2009/02/23/what-i-did-in-the-snow/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

7 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Hi there. Just found your blog. Love the tag line and philosophy. Just what I’m looking for. I look forward to reading more of your blog and the archives in the future.
    Love the pics in the snow. Your location looks like a lovely place to cycle. Wish it were me!!

  2. I’ve worked out that the coffee shop is in Beckington so with a bit of detective work…

    The location of the signpost: ST 799 533 ?
    How close am I?

  3. Hello Cycle Newbie, thanks for your very kind words and nice to have you along. the tagline is from a vintage Howies mtb shirt and seemed to fit perfectly with my view of cycling. Thanks for reading and I hope you come back again.

    Westfield, spot on, did you work it out mathematically from the signpost or did you recognise it from your travels in the area?

  4. As I said, a bit of Google established the location of the Coffee shop. The rest was just a bit of detective work with an OS map using the visible information on the signpost. (A bit sad but more fun than watching telly…).

    I should do more cycling over that way. I cycled from Westbury to Radstock and back last week when I took my van over to the VW place on the Trading Estate near the station – drove over with the bike in the back then cycled home and back the next day to collect. Most pleasant trip via Westbury Leigh – Dilton Marsh – Brokerswood – Standerwick – Berkley – Oldford – Great Elm – Colliers Way – Radstock.

    See on on the road sometime!

    • Nice one. We should coordinate to cross paths at some point. I need to get out on the bike very soon, I’m carrying nearly stone more than I want to be carrying!

  5. …I’m carrying nearly stone more than I want to be carrying!…

    Me too! Actually, nearer 2 stone in my case. A case of too much driving and desk work time and not enough cycling time.

    • Wow I subconsciously self-edited in my last reply, I meant to actually type that I was carrying nearly two stone more than I want to be carrying, but somehow I managed to skip typing ‘two’. I’m obviously in denial!


Leave a Reply

