Wash, lube, ride

I took the opportunity on Sunday to make use of the stable weather and get my Lemond Etape cleaned up a little. I don’t think I’d washed it down since the end of the summer, chain-oil was smeared over the top and down tubes, and dried mud was splattered everywhere. It didn’t take long to give it a scrub down while at the In-laws house, the kids were delighted to see me take the wheels off to clean them. I spent a lot of time on the chain with some WD40 and various rags, gently removing the grime before drying it out and re-lubing. Within an hour I was cycling around on a gleaming bike. I took it out of the village and back along the main road, getting up to 24mph before putting it to bed in the workshop.

Me on my Lemond Etape

Published in: on March 3, 2008 at 1:38 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://highwaycyclinggroup.wordpress.com/2008/03/03/wash-lube-ride/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

