Back in the Saddle

Doctor

My final check up at the hospital this morning, half an hour’s wait, an eight minute examination and I was proclaimed fully recovered. The consultant had the bedside manner of one who is in a great hurry with much to do, not rude, just very businesslike. So he was saying goodbye as he opened his office door to leave, at which point I quickly asked:

“One more thing Doctor, is it safe for me to ride my bicycle again?”

He looked back, smiled and said;

“Perfectly safe, in fact, I recommend it. You can ride your bike straight away”

Reader, the joy I felt cannot be contained in mere information broadcast over the net and displayed here, on your screen. Suffice to say that the grin I sported as I left the office must have caused some of the waiting patients to speculate on the nature of the check-up. Had I been told I was clear of some awful disease? Had I just been informed that actually they’d got it wrong, I had more than three months to live after all?

I intend to celebrate with a bit of spinning on the turbo-trainer tonight, now it is just a question of finding the time to actually get out and ride.

Published in: on January 18, 2008 at 4:59 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://highwaycyclinggroup.wordpress.com/2008/01/18/back-in-the-saddle/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

