Quick catch up time

It’s appalling I know. I blog briefly then disappear for ages, necessitating one of these picture heavy catch up pieces. So what have I been up to bikewise?

The first thing was the Endura Lionheart, which was a choice of 100 miles or 100 kilometres. Naturally I chose the 100km (60 miles), even so that was a stupid undertaken given my expanding girth and lack of fitness.

Not only that, because I don’t have a car, I had to cycle to the start from my house anyway – which was 11 miles.

As I lined up at the start in a sea of brand names and tens of thousands of pounds worth of bikes, I felt conspicuous due to my lack of lycra. It was amazingly fun though. Highlights included a horrific blowout 8 miles in that shredded my tyre, marmite sandwiches at the feed station, Fay thrashing me as my legs cramped, walking two of the hills and hitting the finishing straight at 38mph. A brilliant day, well organised AND medals for everyone!

Then I went with the Explorer Scouts to France and we cycled from St Malo to Cherbourg over four days. A wonderful camping and cycling trip with 165 miles covered, it’s going to be the subject of another post.


Then my car finally got taken away for scrap. I’ve been using public transport to get to my business partner’s house every week, it takes me 3 hours and costs me £32.00. So I’ve started cycling there – (or sometimes part of the way there and then the rest by train) – it takes me 2.5 hours and costs me not as much. The route has some lovely views and interesting things to see. I lost my wallet on the test ride to Gingergeek‘s but amazingly found it on the A36 the next day; hooray! then my spoke broke, meaning I had to walk back seven miles; booooo!



There’s much more cycling to come! Perhaps too much. I’ve committed myself to 470 miles over 4 days for charity – I’m going to need some sponsorship. More on that anon.

Published in: on May 16, 2011 at 8:51 pm  Comments (3)  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://highwaycyclinggroup.wordpress.com/2011/05/16/quick-catch-up-time/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Honesty Table? Looks like an unmanned produce stand. Reminds me of the rural Texas produce stands that farmers put their extras for sale. Glad you’re able to get good riding done!

  2. What exactly is an Honesty Table anyway?

    Your story was extremely funny to read with the good part, bad part way in which you told it. Sure it wasn’t funny to you at the time though.

    With all the cycling you have planned you are going to be one fit cookie very soon. Keep it up.

  3. I know the feeling of not being decked out in the fancy cycling attire! I guess it’s a club I haven’t been invited into!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

